Test Blog From A Newbie: Writing At A Tangent

As many thousands of other NaNoWriMoists begin their first WordPress blogs, I feel distinctly unoriginal in beginning mine.

Writing 71,529 words of a very rough, first draft in twenty-three November days that went by in a silver blur of keyboard blindness and numb fingertips was a useful lesson in ignoring my inner critic.  It means I am now, like many others, able to honestly call myself a writer again.  Too many years have flown by since I made any serious attempt to write (a) a novel or (b) anything much other than emails, Facebook and Twitter statii, or odd jottings when we were away in the motorhome and I had some creative flashes I couldn’t resist.

Those last have not come to nothing.  From their small beginnings when I sat with my laptop at certain sporting events around the country, on ferries, in aircraft, and on those odd motorhoming holidays to France and Norfolk, those notes kept being written.  Some were lost, some found, and some finally came good as I bore them in mind during NaNoWriMo.

I now have a very rough draft of something that claims to be a thriller but I believe is probably more contemporary fiction.  I have leaned very heavily on the myriad experiences of my life – and shamefacedly robbed character ideas from anyone who may ever have ventured near my path.

My journey has never been a straight one.  I don’t think I could have coped with a life that hopped successfully from birth to achievement to triumph to death.  Mine has staggered round in rather the same way as I speak.  My blog is entitled Very Tessa Tangent for a reason.

My husband, Paul, coined the term for me because when we very first went out and were talking, it seemed, endlessly for at least a year, I would always go diverging off the original subject into wildly unrelated areas.  One moment we’d be discussing, say, musical tastes, reggae, Motown and so on.  Then I would veer off into making comments about, say, breeze blocks.   “Woah,” he would say.  “You’re off again, Tessa Tangent!”

That’s just the way I am.  The way I think, speak, write and live.  And I’ve always loved the nickname Paul gave me.  Hence the name for my blog.  My blog posts are almost certain to go off at tangents, too.  I’m surprised I’ve stuck mainly to the thread of my point here.

Often, I find that though I may start off on one subject, I may careen into other areas so much that I find myself somehow led back quite naturally in this method to the original subject.  That’s the way my life has gone, too.

When I get the hang of WordPress, don’t hold your breath on this, I’ll be posting up some of my written work.  I find it helps to have at least one young techno-savvy and willing son to hand.

Or I might start building this blog before he comes to advise me on theme, content and probably a change of title.  I could build it with the breeze-blocks of thought I have lying around, laying a foundation.  There.  I knew I’d find a use for that tangent. 

About Tessa Tangent

I write and I often go off at tangents. Tessa Tangent's my nickname and, at home, I'm called Tessa more than I am my real name, Heather. In the 90s, I had short stories published in magazines like Ludus and For Women. I also won a cherished second prize in a BBC travel writing competition, was the writer of a newsletter for a dry ski slope and had a newspaper article about the slope published. At the same time, I wrote half a first draft of a novel then, for reasons I may reveal, I stopped writing. After a long fallow period, I am writing again - and not a moment too soon...
This entry was posted in On Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Test Blog From A Newbie: Writing At A Tangent

  1. geraldhornsby says:

    Woo hoo! A new blog to follow!

    Breeze blocks are great, so build away. A clever person would be able to link this in a metaphorical way to writing, but I ain’t that clever.

    Good luck on the blog. I’m afraid I’m going to steal your RSS feed, and aggregate it. Now, there’s a link between aggregate and breeze blocks.

    • … something like writing blocks being a breeze to handle? Thanks for your feedback, Gerald. How on earth you aggregate an RSS feed I need my son to tell me… it’s grim here at the cliff-face of new writing.

      • geraldhornsby says:

        A feed aggregator is another way of doing something other than writing. If you have a number of blogs you like to follow, you can get the aggregator to ‘harvest’ the posts from the blogs you tell it about, and present them to you in one place. I use NetNewsWire (Mac), but I think the Google Chrome browser does it, as does Firefox. Outlook (and Outlook Express) probably do it too, now.

  2. John Dee says:

    get blogging 🙂

    • Thank you for your valuable feedback, Mr Dee. I hope you liked my test blog. At the weekend, I shall have a crash course in WordPress with my WP-savvy son and shall take it from there 🙂 All comments are kept in my libel files 🙂

  3. geraldhornsby says:

    Love the new header photo, and the funky controllable snow fall!

    • Thanks, Gerald. I’m taking those nervous first steps; stumbling along through WordPress tutorials. The photo was one of mine from Montherme in France. The snow is available from “appearance”, I think. Apparently, it can stay there until 4 January when they decree we shall have no snow. After last year, I don’t know about that 🙂

  4. mariekreft says:

    Looking good, Tessa T! I hope this will be a useful showcase for your work. Keep it up and I look forward to more posts. x

  5. mariekreft says:

    Looking forward to seeing them; I’ve always enjoyed your writing. x

Leave a Reply

