Well said: Big Society. Little People.

At the agitated and irritable end of a vile high mood swing, and on anti-psychotics and sedatives, I find my concentration hasn’t been all it could be. But I’ve been trying to put into words how I feel ever since the government’s Autumn Statement – and mainly failing. There is not much that renders me speechless (as you probably well know) but maybe these conditions and my overpowering thoughts and feelings have succeeded where other times, conditions and moods have failed.

A friend of mine on Twitter, however, @HutchinsonDave, has since that Autumn Statement managed to not only tell it how it is but to tell it how I feel. Thanks to people like him, someone is saying something that needs to be said. And that’s why today I reblog here his latest post. It echoes exactly how I feel whilst slogging on with the daily ennervating jobsearch, in a society governed by the compassionless who are making it their business to demonise and demean the vulnerable.

Here’s Dave’s new post Big Society. Little People. Let me, or Dave, know what you think. I think you’ll find the rest of his blog articles thought-provoking, too.

About Tessa Tangent

I write and I often go off at tangents. Tessa Tangent's my nickname and, at home, I'm called Tessa more than I am my real name, Heather. In the 90s, I had short stories published in magazines like Ludus and For Women. I also won a cherished second prize in a BBC travel writing competition, was the writer of a newsletter for a dry ski slope and had a newspaper article about the slope published. At the same time, I wrote half a first draft of a novel then, for reasons I may reveal, I stopped writing. After a long fallow period, I am writing again - and not a moment too soon...
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Well said: Big Society. Little People.

  1. Hey there Heather. I feel for you and the many who are suffering there in the UK… and during winter, too. The world is changing all around us. Maybe in some ways that’s a good thing, and long overdue. But that doesn’t make it any easier. Hang in there! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

